top of page

Palm Springs

If you love Mid Century architecture design and decor you have to visit Palm Springs!


This hidden gem in the desert has been exposed. Thanks to Coachella, Kardashians, Obamas, we all now know the town of Palm Springs. It has been three years since my trip; but every time you travel; a part of you that you haven't discovered comes out. I knew I loved furniture, architecture, retro and stylish design of the 60's so Palm Springs was a bucket list trip. There are facebook groups I am a part of called Mid Century Modern and Mid Century Kitsch. We are all interested soaking up knowledge of designers, sharing our style, and getting feedback. Almost cult-ish and nerdy but we are proud of the era and connect. I turned thirty and needed a solo trip. I made it out west and met up with family members. They were excited to show me around and could not believe how much research I had already done. Here's a simple list of a small portion of the trip.


Day one: Relax POOLSIDE. There are incredible views all around of mountains, desert and palm trees. My favorite hotel is The Saguaro. Colorful time capsule of the 1960's. It feels like you step on set of Mad Men.



Day two: Tour. Visit the Parker Palm Springs. We have a saying in my group, "I brake for Breeze Blocks." The modern cement design blocks are for exteriors. This hotel is epic and known for it.


The interior is so 70's chic. Leather, shag, fireplace, sputnik chandelier, and groovy artwork.



Day Three: Shop

The store Just Fabulous is so inspiring. They were the OG's of the flamingo pool float. I wanted to buy everything in the store but that 50 pound weight limit on the airplane is a bummer. They had retro cards, books, photography, home decor, art and so much more. I did purchase a pineapple chap stick, Palm Springs Home book featuring the "The Swiss Miss House" on the cover and my favorite banana leaf bag.


A few more images from the trip. I was seemingly in aw of the beauty and peacefulness of this city. It is quiet and relaxing but bursting with color and nostalgia. I can't think of a place which describes me more perfectly. Haha. I was adventurous and hiked. The Cactus to Clouds Trail is a hiking route in California. It begins in Palm Springs, California, and ascends to San Jacinto Peak.



Some things I did not do but want to when I go back. See Elvis Presley's Honeymoon house, do the Aerial Tram, Kaufmann House, Frank Sinatra Estate, Museum and Joshua Tree! Hopefully I will visit again in October for a wedding.

16 views0 comments
bottom of page