top of page

Halloween-How to get creative and use what you probably already own in your closet.

If I am not dressed up for Halloween, check on me. As a Pisces I love to come up with costumes. How I do that is by re-using clothing I already own and added a few things to complete it. If you stop into Goodwill's during this time of year, they fully get into the spirit too and know people shop there for costumes. The creatives do, at least. I have never purchased a pre-packaged costume in my life. Here are a few looks I've come up with over the years.


Last year's witches costume. This dress was worn the Christmas eve prior. I recycled it and thought it would be perfect. My daughter decided she wanted to be one and I joined her. The brooms were an accidental purchase (thought they were bigger and laughed how tiny they actually were. Thanks Amazon) I already owned the jewelry but little headband was at Joann Fabrics. Eva however; got away with a completely free outfit. Her dress was a hand-me-down from her older cousin.




This year's costumes are already in the works. Since this will probably be Eva's last year of cute chubby cheeks and curls (please don't go away) I am making her an angel. I will be opposite of her and be the devil. I will be once again recycling a Christmas dress for Halloween. Is that a sin? Hopefully not. Its all in good fun, right? Just purchasing the accessories and calling it good.


This will be the dress for the devil costume. Eva will in a gold dress I found while thrifting.


The one her cousin is wearing will be hemmed. She can't wait to wear the wings. Stay tuned.


Okay I lied. Eva was two and I did buy her a costume from the store. At that age it is hard to find something. Puppy dog and Cruella de Vil. I really love this costume for mommy and baby. It's Disney but yet who doesn't want to dress up and wear a fur coat? The only problem; where can I find a white fur coat? I had something that would work but it was not a coat. This was a cover to a bean bag ottoman. I just unzipped it and threw it over my shoulders. Viola!


The one year I purchased a dress was because the headwear was the main goal of the whole costume! Carmen Miranda. She is the brazillian bombshell known her roles in the 1940's or "The Lady in the Tutti-Frutti Hat." I bought the various fake fruit and tropical flowers at a hobby store with every intention of creating the iconic "Chiquita Banana" look. However it was not as easy as I thought. I looked in my closet for something that would hold up this fruit and sure enough, I found my Kentucky Derby hat. I glued everything on and it suddenly felt about 20 pounds. It was worth it.

The last final look was mainly because of my boyfriend looking and resembling Prince William. (Yes that means even the hairline) Which for me to be Kate is a little vulnerable. I had my doubts because she is so slim and pretty and yeah flawless. However; I chose to just create it. I did not actually thrift a wedding dress but I had to make it on my own. Luckily the white lace long sleeve shirt was trendy at the time and just purchased from my own work. The silk was bought at Joanne Fabrics and literally just pinned. Ted's red blazer was from Goodwill and I used some felt and robe from the curtain section. The Royal Wedding commenced!

Seriously, this is only a few. I can list off more pop culture icons that I have been.

1. Katy Perry (Teenage Dream video-Cup cakes and all)

2. Kim Kardashian (no butt cushions purchased)

3. Amy Winehouse (RIP)

4. Wendy Peffercorn


Ask me for help and I can whip it together.

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page