top of page

Meet Minted Penny

Updated: Aug 9, 2019

Who is she? What does it stand for? What does this have to do with mid-century?


At first, people have asked, "so you must be Penny?" Well to be honest it was my pet's name. My name is Stacey and I live in the Midwest. I do some marketing and have a passion for interior spaces; specifically mid-century design and the era that comes with it. It's a culture really. My first baby was a puggle named Penny. She was copper colored and middle name was Lane; hence the Beatles. Then my second but "real baby" came along and I was very excited to decorate a nursery. Once we found we out it was a girl, I had my heart set on pineapple, flamingo, and mid-century decor. I spent the summer preparing for a fall baby and searching for one of a kind pieces to add. Saturday's were spent at garage sales, thrift shops, and searching craigslist. Managing to score an amazing book shelf, night stand, and beautiful basset dresser, the room was almost complete. One thing that was important was a new crib. I was excited to see Walmart had a line called Baby Mod. It came with mid-century legs to match all of the furniture! I linked to a similar style.

The paint color had to be soft and subtle. Probably because I am a pisces and love my blues/greens in calming shades. I chose a barely there Mint called White Mint by Sherwin Williams.


It all came together just perfectly. A mix of new and old with tropical 60's style. From then on, this became my go to style and turns out I was ahead of curve. Mid-century, tiki, pineapples, flamingos made a huge comeback. I've always dreamed of owning a boutique, but baby steps. I decided to actually start Minted Penny. I had the name picked out before anything else. My 8 x 10 booth was born and I moved some things I had in storage and began thrifting.

Everything is represented in my logo. My friend Chelsea who runs a successful Etsy business helped with the design. (MiTwinLakeTreasures) I wanted the leaves to be tropical but mint. My font to be simple, bold and modern. The slogan is true to the style.

*Mint-Favorite ice cream, daughters nursery color, 1960’s iconic shade and finding mint condition pieces. *Penny-Our first dog’s name, grandfather collected pennies, our first apartment was on Lincoln st, rose gold wedding ring, and for good luck!



Thanks for visiting the blog! You will find our booth 63 located inside Great Lakes Bakery & Antiques. We have a curated mix of Mid Century Modern furniture plus retro style gifts and goodies. You will find the vintage tropical booth to feature mint condition items for a great price.


26 views0 comments
bottom of page